Churches: The Seven Pilgrim Churches of Rome

There are three other Pilgrim Churches in Rome

The Four Major Basilicas:

  • St. Peter’s (Vatican)
  • St. Mary Majors
  • St. John Lateran
  • St. Paul’s Outside the Walls

And three other Basilicas:

  • Basilica of St. Sebastian outside the Walls
  • Basilica of the Holy Cross in Jerusalem
  • Basilica of Saint Lawrence outside the Walls


We largely follow the itinerary drawn up by St. Philip Neri except that instead of going from St. Peter’s to St. Paul’s, we go first to St. Sebastian because this is the farthest out.  This adjustment is adapted to the public transport system of Rome and can be done in a day. A 24hour Rome public transport pass is recommended. So the order is as follows:

1) St. Peter’s Basilica, [start with mass if possible then breakfast at the Vatican]

2) St. Sebastian’s

3) St. Paul Outside-the-Walls [break for lunch]

4) St. John Lateran

5) Holy Cross-in-Jerusalem

6) St. Lawrence-Outside-the Walls and finally

7) St. Mary Major